My Revelation

Words cannot describe the love and appreciation I have for all of the amazing people who take time out of their lives to read my blog. Thank you!
Words cannot describe the love and appreciation I have for all of the amazing people who take time out of their lives to read my blog. Thank you!

Boredom can sometimes lead to great things. Late last night while I was waiting for Jared to get off of work, I was sitting on my bed trying to occupy myself. Working out didn’t sound like fun because I had already showered. Eating is never a good idea. And while MasterChef is amazing and one of my favorite shows, there are still commercials to deal with. I didn’t want to be on Pinterest and I didn’t want to play any games. So, I did the only thing that can really motivate me. I made a “to do” list and a bucket list for this blog. When it first started, it was a page that was created for two reasons, one: to get credit in my Junior Portfolio class, and two: to give me a better idea of what it will be like to make a cookbook next year for my capstone. But now that I’ve been doing this for a month, I’ve realized what more it can do for me.

See! Bucket list!
See! Bucket list!

I look at all of the blogs that I love to read and all of the amazing women that I idolize and I realize that if I’m serious about this, it’s time to really start showing it and acting like I actually give a damn. No more excuses about why I didn’t work out one day, or letting Jared convince me not to make a recipe. I’m not just in this for a grade anymore. I’m in this for me in so many ways. First and foremost, I’m sick of being uncomfortable in my own skin and feeling like people judge me because of the way I look. It’s time for me to stop being afraid of what people would think if I go to the gym and can’t do everything they are doing because you know what; at least I’m there and I’m trying to better myself. But the other huge reason that I’m doing this blog is that I want to be a food writer. I have so much passion for food and for my food writing that it overcomes me sometimes. I’ve never been as proud of anything as I am of this blog and all of the hard work that I’ve put into it. I know that it’s going to be tough and at times I’m not going to want to post, but I have to.

There are hundreds of girls and women out there, probably thousands, who are probably feeling the same way that I do. They’re insecure, they feel like they don’t fit in, and they feel like there’s nothing they can do to change it. They go to a store and there are times when even an XL doesn’t fit right. They have friends who are way smaller than them and it makes them resent those friends. I know those feelings. I know what it’s like to flinch when someone touches you because you don’t want them to feel the fat that is on your body. I know what’s it’s like to chase someone away when things are getting intimate because you don’t want them to see all of the things you’re insecure about. Most importantly, I know what it’s like to lose hope that someone is going to come and make you feel better and help you change. But I’m here telling you that I’ll be that person. I’m not claiming to be any expert, but I have something that some experts lack, and that’s passion. I am more passionate about my change and progress than anything else in my life and I’m ready to continue making progress with all of your support.

All of that being said, I hope that all of you will continue to follow me in this journey and continue to show your support and to help me along the way. When you like posts, comment on posts, tweet at me, or follow me on Pinterest, that is my motivation. That is my way of knowing that there are people out there who support me in this crazy, emotional, and amazing journey that I am now on.

Thanks for reading all of this and I hope you’re all having an amazing day. Keep an eye out for little changes around the blog that are sure to happen as I get more serious and devoted than I have been before.

2 thoughts on “My Revelation”

  1. Thank you for posting this. I can’t begin to describe how strongly I resonate with you on not only the desire to lose weight and not feel trapped in your own body and insecurities, but I also share your passion of writing. I haven’t met many people that have that kind of passion, and you definitely have passion. Keep up the awesome work 🙂

Leave a comment